HUNTINGDONSHIRE DISTRICT COUNCIL

MINUTES of the meeting of the COUNCIL held in Civic Suite, Pathfinder House, St Mary's Street, Huntingdon PE29 3TN on Wednesday, 19 December 2018.

PRESENT: Councillor R J West – Chairman.

Councillors T D Alban, B S Banks, G J Bull, S M Burton, E R Butler, S J Criswell, J W Davies, Dr P L R Gaskin, Mrs P A Jordan, P Kadewere, D N Keane, L W McGuire, J M Palmer, K I Prentice, T D Sanderson, Mrs P E Shrapnel, Mrs S Smith, R G Tuplin, D R Underwood

and J E White.

APOLOGIES: Apologies for absence from the meeting were

submitted on behalf of Councillors Mrs M L Beuttell, Mrs S Conboy, J C Cooper-Marsh, Ms A Diaz, Mrs A Dickinson, R Fuller, D A Giles, Mrs S A Giles, J A Gray, M S Grice. Dr N Johnson, D J Mead, J Neish

and S Wakeford.

44. MEMBERS' INTERESTS

No declarations were received.

45. CONFERMENT OF THE TITLES OF HONORARY ALDERMAN AND HONORARY ALDERWOMAN: SECTION 249: LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 1972

By way of a report by the Elections and Democratic Services Manager (a copy of which is appended in the Minute Book) the Council was reminded that they had agreed to introduce titles of Honorary Aldermen and Honorary Alderwomen for current and future Members of the Council who cumulatively had served a minimum of 12 years as an elected Councillor on the District Council.

The Chairman invited former Councillors K Baker, Mrs B Boddington, P L E Bucknell and Mrs D Reynolds to join the meeting, whereby each were invited to approach the dias. The Chairman presented them with a certificate in recognition of the title of Alderman/Alderwomen and insignia to be worn on occasions when required to attend civic functions on behalf of the Council.

Following tributes to Mr Baker, Mrs Boddington, Mr Bucknell and Mrs Reynolds for the contribution they had made to public life and the community of Huntingdonshire, the former Members thanked the Council for their awards. It was duly moved by the Chairman, Councillor R J West and seconded by the Vice-Chairman, Councillor J W Davies and

RESOLVED

that, in sincere appreciation of distinguished public service, the title of Honorary Alderman and Honorary Alderwomen be conferred upon former Councillors K Baker, Mrs B Boddington, P L E Bucknell and Mrs D Reynolds in accordance with Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972.

The meeting ended at 6.20pm.

Chairman